What is Super Ballon d’Or, and who are the winners of Super Ballon d’Or?

Super Ballon d’Or is the ultimate accolade that crowns the best footballer in history. It’s not your ordinary Ballon d’Or; it’s a league. We will delve into What is Super Ballon d’Or. And why it is so unique and reveals the iconic players who have been fortunate enough to hold this prestigious title throughout the years.

What is Super Ballon d’Or?

The Super Ballon d’Or is an honorary award presented to a footballer who has distinguished themselves as the best player in the world over a significant period. It goes beyond the scope of the regular Ballon d’Or, which recognizes the best player of each year. The Super Ballon d’Or was introduced in 1995 and has since been awarded only twice – to Johan Cruyff and Lionel Messi.

What is Super Ballon d'Or

This prestigious accolade holds immense significance due to its exclusivity. To be recognized as the most outstanding player not just for one exceptional year but for consistently excelling at such a high level over multiple seasons is a true testament to their skill, determination, and legacy in the sport. It requires sustained dominance and influence to emerge victorious among countless exceptional players worldwide.

With only two winners thus far, it begs the question: Who else could claim this prestigious title in years to come? Will Cristiano Ronaldo or Neymar Jr., both iconic figures in modern football, manage to secure this illustrious honor? Only time will tell if they have what it takes to join Cruyff and Messi on this exclusive list of Super Ballon d’Or recipients.

Super Ballon d’Or Details

Super Ballon d’Or Date December 24th, 1989
Super Ballon d’Or Founded Country Name France
Super Ballon d’Or Presented by France Football
Eligibility for Super Ballon d’Or Multiple-time Ballon d’Or winner
First awarded for Super Ballon d’Or
January 1989
First Winner of Super Ballon d’Or  Alfredo Di Stéfano
Other List Winners  Lionel Messi Top Scorer, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ronaldo Nazario, Zinedine Zidane, Andriy Shevchenko, Roberto Baggio & Lothar Matthäus, Hristo Stoichkov, Robert Lewandowski, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Kaka, Luis Figo & Luka Modric, Thierry Henry, Andres Iniesta & Matthias Sammer, Karim Benzema & Michael Owen, Pavel Nedved, Marco van Basten, Jean-Pierre Papin, George Weah, Fabio Cannavaro & Xavi, Hernandez, Dennis Bergkamp, Neymar, Raul, Paolo Maldini, Jurgen Klinsmann, David Beckham & Gianluigi Buffon, Roberto Carlos, Sadio Mane, Davor Suker & Dejan Savićevic, Darko Pančev, Salvatore Schillaci, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Deco, Predrag Mijatović, Oliver Kahn, Frank Lampard, Antoine Griezmann & Virgil van Dijk, Didier Drogba & Kylian Mbappe, Steven Gerrard, Kevin De Bruyne & Mo Salah, Iker Casillas, Andrea Pirlo & Samuel Eto’o, Luis Suarez, Jari Litmanen, Eric Cantona, Alessandro Del Piero & Gabriel Batistuta

Super Ballon d’Or is valuable?

The Super Ballon d’Or, often considered the pinnacle of individual football accolades, holds immense value in football. While critics argue that it is just another addition to the plethora of existing awards, its distinctiveness lies in its ability to transcend geographical and generational boundaries.

The award recognizes outstanding performances yearly and compares players across different eras, fostering healthy debates and allowing fans to contemplate who deserves the title of the most outstanding player.

What sets the Super Ballon d’Or apart is its emphasis on longevity and consistency. It considers a player’s achievements over their entire career rather than solely focusing on a single standout season. This aspect adds weight to the award and ensures that only players who have consistently performed at an exceptionally high level are considered for this honor.

Considering players from different generations provides a unique opportunity to recognize icons from bygone eras who may not have had access to global acclaim like today’s superstars. Winning the Super Ballon d’Or elevates players into an elite echelon reserved for legends of the game. It is an enduring testament to their talent and dedication throughout their careers.

The list of previous winners reads like a roll call of football royalty – Pelé, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo – showcasing how these incredible athletes have left an indelible mark on the sport.


We concluded from the above blog that what is Super Ballon d’Or? It is a prestigious award that recognizes the best football player in the world. It was created to honor those exceptional players who have won multiple Ballon d’Or awards throughout their careers. Over the years, legends such as Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini, and Lionel Messi have been honored with this accolade.

The winners of the Super Ballon d’Or are a testament to their immense talent, dedication, and contributions to the sport. As football continues to evolve and new stars emerge, it will be exciting to see who will join this elite group of players in the future.


Who are the Winners of the Super Ballon dor?

Alfredo Di Stéfano Lionel Messi Top Scorer, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ronaldo Nazario, Zinedine Zidane,

Did Diego Maradona won Ballon d Or?

Despite his many accomplishments, Maradona has never won the Ballon d\x27Or, an annual award given to the best footballer in the world.